h1

GenCon 2012 Report II – Friday to Flight Home

24 August, 2012

After the success of Thursday, I was looking forward to Friday.  Up early for another 8am game, which was delayed as we had to wait for the room to be unlocked, but still had six people for the Otomo Estates adventure which was the introductory intrigue scenario.  They managed quite well with a tricky political situation ultimately achieving the goals set for them and even managing to get one of the characters a minor political post out of the deal.  (Onof the players sent me an email after the con and said that this adventure was one of the highlights of her GenCon!  Which made me feel very good.)

Young AthenaThen I had my only extended block of time to visit the exhibitors hall as my next game was not until 6pm.  I made it a point to go down each and every one of the aisles, so I could at least glance at everything there.  So many wonderful things, it was overwhelming but in a good way.  So much creativity and passion about our hobby was on display.  I caught up with Drew Baker and chatted a bit, Drew is a great guy and a wonderful artist so I always drop by to talk with him.  And broke down and purchased another piece of art, the charming young Athena to the right by Meredith Dillman along with a pendant from the same artist for Laura.  Art ended up being my biggest block of purchases this year.  Said hello to Adam Jury of Posthuman Studios.

Then, back for my evening game, arriving at the room just the the Heroes of Rokugan LARP was ending, so got to look at some wonderful costumes.  This was the Ten Thousand Temples game, advanced intrigue, and a murder mystery so I was a bit worried.  Mysteries are among the hardest type of game to run and I was unsure if I should have included one but I need not have worried.  The seven players set about investigating with purpose, people were questioned, red herrings were dangled and finally the villain was accused and captured!  Afterward, once I had made sure none of the players were going to be coming to my other games, I let them in on the linked plot between the four con games.  And they game my an ovation!  I was shocked (should any of the players be reading this, if I appeared to be less than gracious in accepting it, that was why, it was so unexpected) but, in retrospect, quite pleased.

Afterward, I wandered the halls looking in on games from Pathfinder Society to miniatures before running across my old friend jim pinto of Post World Games who was with two new and one old friends and whom invited me to play Fiasco with them (using the Gangster London playset) as I have been wanting to play Fiasco, I jumped at the chance.   It is a GM-less roleplaying game and design to have things end badly for the characters involved.  The Gangster London playset aims for a Guy Richie kind of mood and we gave it our best shot with thing ending terrible for two of the characters and not at all well for the others.  Much fun and I look forward to playing it again.  Though it did mean that I was up until 2am with . . .

Having to be up at 6am to get ready for Saturday’s games, which I managed with some effort.   Into the room on time for a six player group, where they found the bodies of the characters from Thursday’s advanced game in the ruins (rah, continuity).  Everything ran well, though the HoR group was playing though a mass battle which was rather noisy at times.  Unfortunately, only one player showed up for the afternoon slot, so I had to cancel that game.

Between the two, I took the time to wait in line to get an autograph from Nichelle Nichols!  Who was one of the media guests of honor and very charming.  I had her sign her autograph to Laura and had my photo taken with her.  Very nice.   Then off to help with setting up the Legend of the Five Rings 10K card party at the Rathskeller.  Which was ridiculously well attended, 200 of 200 seats sold and AEG staff, volunteers and even the guest artists did not have a place to sit at the beginning of the event!  Good food, nifty swag and lots of noise and fun.  Well done L5R!

Lastly, as it was the last night of GenCon, another wander was called for.  Ended up playing some board and card games before again getting to bed at 2am.  Luckily, my game on Sunday was not until 10am, so I could sleep in until 7:30.  Only four players for my final game, a reprise of Ten Thousand Temples, but including my friend Max, who I know from the internet, as one of them.  This was the first time we have gamed together, face to face, quite cool.  The game went well, they followed a different path from the first group but still managed to solve the murder most foul.  All in all, an excellent wrap up to my games.

Went off for one last pass through the exhibit hall: Congratulated Steve Kenson on his status as one of the industry guests.  Talked to the people behind the Foreshadows: the Ghosts of Zero cyberpunk anthology, expect a review soon.  Purchased the complete Dungeon Geomorph dice (all three sets) from Inkwell Ideas, very cool.  Watched a demo of On the Lambs’ Brushfire anthropomorphic skirmish game which look quite amusing.  Finally managed to visit the Wizards of the Coast booth, where I ran across Bill Cavalier, the Dungeon Bastard, who personally gave me my membership card in the Badass Dungeon Crushers Association.  Oh yeah.

Then, suddenly, GenCon was over.  The hall closed.  Helped to break down the AEG booth, grabbed my stuff at the hotel, caught a shuttle back into the airport.  Where my flight was delayed 40 minutes but safely made it to Atlanta where I took another shuttle bus back to Athens and home.

Overall, a great time.  Thanks to AEG for letting me run the fabulously fun Legend of the Five Rings RPG for them and the wonderful gamers at GenCon.  See you next year, hopefully.  You can find my photos from Indianapolis and GenCon here.

Please share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

